Here’s the latest available information regarding rates, rules and quotes for car insurance in the state of Connecticut. Learn how to evaluate different auto insurance plans to find the lowest possible rates. In Connecticut, as in most U.S. states, car insurance is not an option, but a requirement.
Connecticut Minimum Liability Coverage
For basic auto insurance, the state of Connecticut requires minimum coverage of 20/40/10. The first number refers to the amount of coverage, in thousands, to pay costs associated with personal bodily injury. Drivers in Connecticut must purchase no less than $20,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. The second number signifies the amount of insurance needed to cover injuries to other people. This amount is set at $40,000 in Connecticut. The third number represents the state’s minimum required coverage for property damage. Deductibles may apply.
Uninsured motorist insurance (UMI) is also required as part of a basic auto insurance policy in Connecticut. According to the Insurance Information Institute, drivers nationwide really need at least $100,000 in personal injury coverage and $300,000 in multiple injury coverage per vehicle in order to cover the actual cost of an accident.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Connecticut
Uninsured drivers in Connecticut face a stiff fine of $500 for the car owner, and up to $1,000 for the driver, as well as license and registration suspensions. As you might guess, subsequent offenses are met with increasingly serious legal consequences.
Auto Insurance Rates in Connecticut
As of 2016, the average annual premium for car insurance in Connecticut was $1,367, not too much higher than the national average annual premium, which was $1,347 at the time.
Factors affecting the rising and falling of car insurance premiums include site-specific elements like weather conditions, local economy, crime statistics, percentage of uninsured drivers, availability of insurance carriers and population density, for instance.
Other influences on annual premiums are driver demographics like age, gender, marital status, driving history, annual mileage and car model owned, among other things. Speeding is a one-point offense on your Connecticut motor vehicle record, but driving too slowly, which impedes traffic, is two points. Moving violations such as these also can affect your auto insurance rates.
Low Cost Car Insurance Programs in Connecticut
Connecticut drivers seem to favor Erie Car Insurance, which offers all kinds of driver discounts. For example, the Anti-Theft Device Discount applies to vehicles with permanently installed anti-theft devices. Eligible devices include car alarms and wheel locks. The Defensive Driving Course Discount is offered to people 55 and older who take the required course. The Good Driving Discount is for drivers with no moving violations or at-fault accidents over a three year period. The Good Student Discount rewards high academic standing. Other available discounts include the Multiple Line Discount for purchasing more than one policy, the Passive Restraint Discount for installed airbags, and the Vehicle Safety Discount for owning certain types of cars. Ask your local agent about your eligibility for discounts on Connecticut car insurance. Do a cost comparison.
Insurance Quotes in Connecticut
Among car owners who post online reviews, the nation’s most popular auto insurance providers include Allstate, Auto Owners Insurance, The Hartford, State Farm and 21st Century Insurance. Many Connecticut drivers choose big name carriers such as these. Others prefer local auto insurance companies like Erie. No matter which route you take to get a good deal on car insurance, the Connecticut has many providers of auto insurance at various competitive rates. Call any local agent for a quote, or obtain many free quotes online and compare them. Don’t forget to ask about the discounts.