If you own or drive a vehicle in Arkansas, the info shown here can help you keep your car insurance costs to a minimum. Here’s the latest information pertaining to quotes, rates, minimums, state laws, statistics, and tips on customizing the best Arkansas auto insurance package for you.
Arkansas Minimum Liability Coverage
In compliance with Arkansas state law, the minimum required insurance coverage for each owned vehicle is 25/50/25. That’s insurance speak for $25,000 in Personal Injury Protection (death or injury to the driver), $50,000 in per-accident coverage (death or injury to others) and $25,000 against property damage. Even these amounts often fall short of covering the actual costs associated with having an accident. In fact, the Insurance Information Institute recommends 100/300 coverage for all U.S. drivers. Uninsured Motorist Insurance (UMI) is also recommended for Arkansas drivers.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance in Arkansas
The standard penalty for getting caught driving an uninsured vehicle in the state of Arkansas is typically a fine of up to $1,000, in conjunction with a suspended registration. In other words, it costs more to get caught driving uninsured than it would in annual premiums if we were smart enough to buy car insurance to begin with.
Auto Insurance Rates in Arkansas
Premiums on automobile insurance in Arkansas are influenced by site-specific factors like climate, economy, crime rate, percentage of uninsured vehicles, insurance availability and population density, for instance. Other conditions affecting premiums include the driver’s age, gender, marital status and driving record.
The average yearly premium for auto insurance in the “No-Fault” state of Arkansas was about $1,345 in 2016, according to demographic data recently posted on various statistical websites. This figure falls just below the national average for annual car insurance premiums, which was $1,347 at the time.
Low Cost Car Insurance Programs in Arkansas
Car insurance carriers offer a broad assortment of discounts for safe drivers, senior citizens, good students, drivers who use anti theft devices, drivers who buy more than one policy and drivers who own more than one car, among others. For example, Arkansas law requires car insurance companies to give a discount to drivers over the age of 55, if they complete an accident prevention course approved by the state’s Office of Motor Vehicles.
Obtaining Auto Insurance Quotes in Arkansas
According to recent consumer reviews, the most popular car insurance providers in Arkansas are Encompass, Liberty Mutual, The Hartford, State Farm and 21st Century Insurance. By comparison, some Arkansas drivers prefer smaller, local carriers. Overall, the state of Arkansas is home to several dozen car insurance companies based in hundreds of neighborhood offices. Local agents can offer adequate coverage at competitive rates. Call around and compare quotes. Ask about their discount programs.